Alestorm are a Scottish heavy metal band formed in Perth, Scotland in 2007. Their music is characterised by a pirate theme, and as a result, they have been dubbed a “pirate metal” band by many critics and their fanbase. The band refer to themselves as “True Scottish Pirate Metal” and are identifiable by the pirate-themed lyrics in their songs. Alestorm’s music utilizes the upbeat epic style of Scottish folk metal and power metal. Album recordings feature heavy use of real trumpets, trombones, accordion synths, fiddle, tin whistle, violins, vibraslaps, brass, keytars, played to singalong choruses to convey a pirate sea shanty feel.

  • Captain Morgan’s Revenge (2008)
  • Black Sails at Midnight (2009)
  • Back Through Time (2011)
  • Sunset on the Golden Age (2014)
  • No Grave But the Sea (2017)
  • Curse of the Crystal Coconut (2020)
  • Seventh Rum of a Seventh Rum (2022)

Alestorm’s website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *